Day Trip: in modern Rotterdam

Heya!

I decided to close of the summer (last weekend) with a trip to Rotterdam. I did not plan to do anything specific, except seeing a close friend and enjoying the last rays of sunshine while sipping (too much) coffee at an outside terrace.

Rotterdam was a complete new city to me as I had never been before. However, it ended up looking as I expected it to, per the stories and explanations I had heard from my Dutch friends.

Rotterdam old and new.jpg

The city was heavily bombed during the Second World War by the Germans and ended up completly destroyed. Nowadays, it does not look like a ‘typical’ Dutch city you could expect, with its canals, bikes everywhere and houses with gambrel roofs. On the contrary, the city is vibrant with energy, its very modern with high skyscrappers, has interesting architecture and has impressive (massive) bridges.

I managed to see quite a lot, taking into account that I had no bike and was just walking around. I saw the Cube Houses (Kubuswoningen), Rotterdam’s TV tower (Euromast) – from far away but that still counts!- the Erasmus Bridge (Erasmusbrug), the Market Hall (Markthal).

I’ve explained the concept of the Cube Houses on my instagram (linked down below), but they are representing trees, while being efficient with space that was available.

The Erasmus Bridge is the second largest bridge in the Netherlands, the first one being the Zeeland Bridge further south from Rotterdam. It is 802 meters long and 139 meters tall!

It was a very nice day and I’m really glad I took time off from studying to go visit!

Stay happy and enjoy your weekend!

⫷𝓜⫸

Instagram: @travel_gm

Email: travel.girls.mind@gmail.com

 

 

 

Leave a comment